Mark P Xu Neyer

Intro

I have found a way of thinking about emotion which has been extremely useful to me. The more I have used this model, the better I have been able to manage and deal with unpleasant emotions.  This model has the ability to explain all kinds of phenomena that many people have told me before were “obvious” but could not explain why these phenomena occurred. This explanatory ability is coupled with predictions: the model predicts ways to respond to emotional disturbances constructively, and predicts ways to avoid upsetting other people.

In this post I will walk you through this model. I will give you a simple example of an emotionally charged encounter between two people.  I will show how my model predicts the emotions experienced by the people in this scenario, and does so without any “hand wavy” appeals to “well you just need to understand people.” In future posts I…

View original post 2,083 more words

